
 
 

 

 

 

Criminal Conviction Determination Request Form 
 
 

Section 9.78 of the Ohio Revised Code permits an individual who has been convicted of a criminal 
offense to request that a licensing authority, the Board, determine whether that conviction 
disqualifies the individual from obtaining a license, permit or certification as a certified apprentice, 
crematory operator, embalmer or funeral director. 
 

Disqualification may be overcome if the individual applying for the license holds a Certificate of 
Qualification for Employment issued under Section 2953.25 of the Ohio Revised Code or a 
Certificate of Achievement and Employability issued under Section 2961.22 of the Ohio Revised 
Code.  More information regarding Certificates of Qualification for Employment can be found at the 
Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction website at https://drc.ohio.gov/cqe 
 

To submit a request, complete the form included in this document and mail the completed form, 
along with all requested documentation, and a check or money order for $25.00 to: 

 
State of Ohio Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors 

C/O: Licensing-Criminal Conviction Determination 
77 South High Street, 16th 
Floor Columbus, OH 43215 

 
The check or money order must be made payable to: “Treasurer, State of Ohio.” 

The Board is required to issue a determination within 30 days of receiving a request. The 30-day 
timeline begins once a completed form, supporting documents and payment have been received 
by the Board. 

https://drc.ohio.gov/cqe


Pursuant to section 9.78 of the Ohio Revised Code, the Board is required to post a list of all criminal 
offenses of which conviction of that offense would disqualify an individual from obtaining a license or 
registration. 

 
While the Board does not have a statutory list of offenses that automatically disqualify an applicant, the 
Board follows Sections 4717.14 and 4776.10 of the Ohio Revised Code which list offenses that would 
most likely result in the disqualification of an individual obtaining licensure, permit or certification: 

 
A “crime of moral turpitude” or “moral turpitude” as defined in Section 4776.10 of the Ohio Revised 
Code, which includes all the following offenses: 

 
▪ An offense of violence as defined in Section 2901.01 of the Ohio Revised Code, if the 

offense is a felony of the first or second degree 
▪ Murder 
▪ Aggravated murder 
▪ Rape 
▪ Sexual battery 
▪ Gross sexual imposition 
▪ Sexual imposition 
▪ Importuning 
▪ Voyeurism 
▪ Compelling prostitution 
▪ Promoting prostitution 
▪ Pandering obscenity 
▪ Pandering obscenity involving a minor 
▪ Pandering sexually oriented matter involving a minor 
▪ Illegal use of minor in nudity-oriented material or performance 
▪ Unlawful sexual conduct with minor 
▪ Felonious assault (if committed with a sexual motivation) 
▪ Involuntary manslaughter (on basis of the violation with a sexual motivation) 
▪ Menacing by stalking (if committed with a sexual motivation) 
▪ Kidnapping (if committed with a sexual motivation/engaging in sexual activity with the victim 

against the victim's will/victim is under 18 and offender is not a parent of the victim of the 
offense) 

▪ Voluntary manslaughter (if committed with a sexual motivation) 
▪ Abduction (if committed with a sexual motivation) 
▪ Unlawful restraint (without privilege to do so and with a sexual motivation) 
▪ Criminal child enticement (if committed with a sexual motivation) 
▪ Endangering children (entice, coerce, permit, encourage, compel, hire, employ, use or allow the 

child to act, model, or in any other way participate in, or be photographed for the production, 
presentation, dissemination or advertisement of any material or performance that the offender 
knows or reasonably should know is obscene, is sexually oriented matter or is nudity oriented 
matter) 

▪ Trafficking in persons 
▪ Soliciting (person is less than sixteen years of age/person is a person with a developmental 

disability and the offender knows or has reasonable cause to believe the other person is a person 
with a developmental disability) 
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CRIMINAL CONVICTION DETERMINATION REQUEST FORM 

Note: To submit this form for determination, complete this form and mail it, along with all 
requested documentation (see Part 3 of this form), and a check or money order for $25.00 to: 

State of Ohio Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors 
77 South High Street, 16th Floor 

 Columbus, OH 43215. 

 
Part 1.  Applicant Information 

First Name: (First, Middle Initial) Last Name: 

Address: City:  State  Zip Code: 

Email: Daytime Telephone Number(s): 

 
Type of License/Permit/Certification Seeking to Obtain (Select One) 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 
Part 2.  Criminal Conviction Information 
Case Numbers(s): Date of Offense(s): 

State: County: 

Violation(s): 

Classification: (Select one) 
 
 

  Felony   Misdemeanor 

Are you still on community control, post release sanction, parole, or court 
order treatment in connection with the offense? 
 
                    Yes   No 

 
 

Part 3.  Court Documents (Attachments) 
 

Please attach the official court record(s) providing the outcome of your criminal conviction (commonly referred  
to as the sentencing entry or judgement entry). Failure to attach this information with the application may result  
in a delay in processing your request. 
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Part 4.  Description of Offense(s) 
 
Provide a detailed description of the offense(s): If additional space is required, you may attach 
additional pages. 
 

 
 
 

Part 5.  Certificate of Qualification for Employment or Certificate of Achievement and Employability 
(Attachment) 

 
Disqualification may be overcome if the individual applying for the license holds a Certificate of 
Qualification for Employment issued under Section 2953.25 of the Ohio Revised Code or a Certificate of 
Achievement and Employability issued under Section 2961.22 of the Ohio Revised Code.  More 
information regarding Certificates of Qualification for Employment can be found at the Ohio Department 
of Rehabilitation and Correction website at https://drc.ohio.gov/cqe 
 
If you hold a Certificate of Qualification for Employment or Certificate of Achievement and 
Employability, please attach it to this Request Form. You may provide any additional information about 
your certificate here.  If additional space is required, you may attach additional pages. 

 

 
 
 

https://drc.ohio.gov/cqe
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Attestation 
 

I hereby affirm that all statements contained in this application and all documents submitted with 
the application are true and accurate to the best of my knowledge. I acknowledge that knowingly 
making a false statement, or knowingly swear or affirm to the truth of a false statement previously 
made with the purpose to mislead a public official in performing the public official’s official function 
constitutes falsification under Section 2912.13(A)(3) of the Ohio Revised Code. Falsification is a 
misdemeanor of the first degree; punishable by imprisonment of up to six months and a fine of not 
more than one thousand ($1,000) dollars. 

 
I also acknowledge that pursuant to Section 9.78 (B) of the Ohio Revised Code, the State of Ohio 
Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors is not bound by its determination if, upon further 
investigation, it finds that the criminal convictions of the applicant differ from what is included in the 
request form. 

 
 
 
 

Applicant’s Signature: _  Date:    
 
 

Applicant’s Printed Name:  Date:    


	Attestation
	Applicant’s Signature: _  Date:


