Crematory Operator Actually In Charge- Crematory Facility

Under Ohio Revised Code 4717.06(D), the Board shall issue a license to operate a crematory facility only to a crematory operator who is actually in charge and ultimately responsible for the crematory facility. Meaning, the Board will not issue a crematory facility license and a crematory facility cannot operate unless the actually in charge of the crematory facility also holds a crematory operator permit. 

What Do I Need to Obtain a Permit?

Crematory Operator Permit (Initial Issuance)

The initial issuance of the crematory operator permit will begin on September 10, 2018. The requirements to obtain the permit are as follows:

  1. Application  
  2. BCI/FBI Background check (See Licensing Tab on Board Website)
  3. Submit certificate of completion of Board approved crematory operation certification program
  4. Submit certificate of completion of two (2) hour course on laws and rules specific to crematory operation in Ohio
  5. Pay $100 Application Fee

                   

Crematory Operator Permit (Renewal)

The crematory operator permit will follow the same biennial renewal cycle as the other licenses issued by the State of Ohio Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors. The requirements for renewal are as follows:

  1. Application
  2. Submit an active certificate of completion of Board approved crematory operation certification program
  3. Submit certificate of completion of two (2) hour course on laws and rules specific to crematory operation in Ohio
  4. Pay $100 Application Fee

                       

I Have a Certificate or My Certificate Expired- Grandfather Provision

During the adminstrative rulemaking process, the Board sought to be as inclusive as possible for individuals who previously completed a crematory operation certification program. As a result, a grandfather provision was included in the administrative rules to authorize the Board to acccept certificates of crematory operation certification programs successfully completed prior to the enactment of the crematory operator permit statute. While the provision does not have a lifetime look back period, the provison authorizes the Board to accept certificates of an approved crematory operation certification programs completed on or after January 1, 2014 or evidence that the certificate of an approved crematory operation certification program expired within the last twenty-four months.

Grandfather Provision

  1. Proof of an approved crematory operation certification program completed on or after January 1, 2014; or
  2. Proof of an approved crematory operation certification program that expired within the last twenty-four months. 

Twenty-Four Month Expiration Period

The twenty-four month expiration rule only applies for the initial rollout of the permit. An individual seeking to apply for or renew a permit during the next biennial period will be required to demonstrate proof of an active crematory operation certification program certificate. The rule only applies to crematory operation certification programs that expired after January 1, 2017, twenty-four months from January 1, 2019.

Administrative Rule: Crematory Operator Permit Grandfather Provision

Board Approved Crematory Operation Certification Programs

The State of Ohio Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors Education and Examination Committee reviewed and approved the following providers to host crematory operation certification programs:

Board Approved Certification Programs

  1. Cremation Association of North America (CANA)
  2. International Cemetery, Cremation & Funeral Services Association (ICCFA)
  3. Matthews Cremation Division 
  4. National Funeral Directors Association (NFDA)

 

A provider seeking to host a crematory operation certification program must obtain approval from the Board and comply with the requirements set forth in Ohio Adminstrative Code 4717-04. 

 

Education and Examination Committee Minutes

 

Crematory Operator Permit Fee

Under Section 4717.07 of the Ohio Revised Code, the fee for a crematory permit fee is $100. The biennial renewal fee for the permit is $100. A $50 late fee is assessed to any permit holder who fails to timely renew the permit. If a permit falls into lapse status and requires reinstatement, a $50 late fee is assessed each month the permit is lapsed, but not to exceed $500.

Crematory Operation Certification Program Certificate vs. Law & Rules Certificate

An applicant is required to complete an approved crematory operation certification program and a course on law and rules specific to crematory operation in Ohio. A program hosted by a provider may focus on either a crematory operation certification program, laws and rules specific to crematory operation in Ohio, or both. While these programs may be completed at the same time or on separate dates, an applicant must submit proof of completion of both during the initial application or renewal. 

Crematory Operation Certification Program

An applicant must submit proof of an active certificate of completion of a Board approved crematory operation certification program. While it is likely an applicant may have two renewal periods before the certification expires, the applicant must always demonstrate the certification is active at the time of renewal. If the certification is active at the time of the initial application or renewal and expires thereafter, the applicant may still apply and receive a permit; however, the permit holder (applicant) must immediately complete the next available crematory operation certification program. If the applicant falls within the grandfather provision for the initial issuance of the permit, the applicant may submit an expired certificate of completion of a crematory operation certification program that expired within the last twenty-four months. The permit holder (applicant) that falls within the grandfather provision must then immediately complete the next available crematory operation certification program.

Laws and Rules Course

An applicant must submit proof of a certificate of completion of a two (2) hour course on laws and rules specific to cremation operation in Ohio. Unlike the Board approved crematory operation cetification program, an applicant must demonstrate proof of completion at the time of initial issuance of the permit and during each renewal period. 

Individual licensees (funeral directors and embalmers) and non-licensees may hold a crematory operator permit. A licensee who completes the two (2) hour course on laws and rules may apply the two (2) hours earned toward the new continuing eduation requirements (4717-9-01) necessary for compliance that become effective on January 1, 2019. (See OAC 4717-15-05)

 

Crematory Operator Permit Education Program and Course Dates

Crematory Operator Permit Scope of Practice

Under Ohio law, a "crematory operator" means a person who engages, in whole or in part, in cremation from one or more crematories licensed by the Board. Cremation is the technical process of using heat and flame to reduce human or animal remains to bone fragments or ashes or a combination, which also includes processing or pulverization of bone fragments.  

Simply, a crematory operator is an individual that performs the duties leading up to the cremation, performance of the act of cremation (operation of the equipment), and duties completing the cremation process (recovery of remains from cremation chamber, processing or pulverization, and transfer of cremains to temporary container or urn).

* A crematory operator is not authorized to make arrangements for cremation service. Only a licensed funeral director is authorized to make arrangements under Ohio law. 

 

Duties Within the Crematory Operator's Scope of Practice

The following phases are duties that fall within the scope of practice for a crematory operator permit holder:

  1. Storage after arrival of the case following removal/transfer
  2. Paperwork (removal/transfer documents, cremation authorization form, identification, payment)
  3. Cremation
  4. Recovery of cremated remains from cremation chamber
  5. Processing/Pulverization
  6. Transfer of cremated remains to temporary container or urn

 

Duties Outside the Crematory Operator's Scope Practice

The following phases are duties that do not fall within the scope of practice for a crematory operator permit holder:

  1. Removal/transfer of a case to the custody of the crematory facility and crematory operator 
  2. Pick up of temporary container or urn containing the cremated remains

 

Related Issues Specific to Cremation and Crematory Operator Permit

A crematory operator permit is not required where family member or an individual with the right of disposition requests either of the following:

  1. A request to begin the cremation process ("push the button")
  2. A request to place the case into the cremation chamber

 

Crematory Operator Permit Statute

The statute authorzing the Crematory Operator Permit is found under the Section 4717.051 of the Ohio Revised Code.

Ohio Revised Code- 4717.051

Crematory Operator Permit Administrative Rules

The adminstrtive rules for the Crematory Operator Permit are found under the Rule 4717-15 of the Ohio Adminstrative Code.

Crematory Operator Permit Rules-  OAC 4717-15

CREMATORY OPERATOR PERMIT APPLICATION FORM

                           Crematory Operator Permit Application Form